Posted in Uncategorized

Dear first time parents: Just you wait

Yes, this.
I love parenting perspectives that aren’t cynical or devoid of the truly amazing thing it is to be someone’s parent.

This Heart...

When it comes to parenting, there may be nothing more painful than child-birth. 

Actually, that’s not true.

Not long after feeling fully recovered from delivering my son, I realized something slightly disturbing: labor and delivery might just be the easiest part of parenting. 

That first year felt like both the longest year in the history of everything, and also the quickest. There were dozens of reasons why.

100_1392

Adjusting to breast-feeding, a lack of sleep, dealing with a sick infant for the very first time, bumps on their head when they became mobile, guilt for not enjoying every moment. 

I felt both lonely and overwhelmed, which I never thought was possible. 

Sometimes, when I tried to verbalize those feelings, I would get this in return, the three words perhaps no new parent wants to hear: just you wait. 

Just you wait until they’re walking. 

Just you wait until they’re RUNNING

Just…

View original post 1,017 more words

Author:

I have a Master's degree in Secondary Education, a Bachelor's degree in English, and a Secondary Ed teaching license. I also have a four year old son, a one year old son, a husband, and a cat. Let's see how those degrees help me manage my life..... Spoiler alert- they just decorate the walls.

Leave a Reply

