Posted in Toddler

There is no “pin” for this…

This week, has been tantrum heavy. He’s four months shy of three and I guess his life has been really hard this week since I require him to wear pants and shoes outside and I won’t let him hit the dog with his wooden hammer.

And I feel bad. I do. But I’m over it. This boy has caused me to develop more patience and empathy than I ever knew possible, and today- tonight at least- I’m done. I cannot fight him over one more thing.

He just threw the biggest tantrum ever in the bath tub because I wanted to rinse shampoo out of his hair. He cried so hard his face turned crimson and his little nose ran faucets into the tub water. And what do you do? I couldn’t take him out of the tub with shampoo in his hair. He wouldn’t calm down and each time I tried to tip his head back to rise off the soap, he thrashed around so much I thought he was going to crack his head on the porcelain. It was all I could do to dump water over his lathered head and pull him out of the tub and into my lap.

And I held it together. I didn’t yell, I didn’t threaten. I wrapped his trembling, weeping body in his brown monkey towel and attempted to rock him. And it was kind working, till he puked.

Even the puking didn’t snap him out of the crying. I tried to coach him by telling him to breathe, and that’s when I lost it because he yelled, “I don’t want to breathe” – and I couldn’t help it- I burst into laughter.

Because the situation was just so ridiculous: my poor, pathetic, crying toddler was standing in front of me with snot dripping out of his nose, his chin wet from puke, and his eyes streaming with tears and everything I tried failed. But when he screamed, “I don’t want to breathe”, it was so melodramatic that I couldn’t stop myself from laughing.
The only way I got him to stop crying was to promise I’d leave him alone once I got him dressed.

So now, we are on a break. I’m letting bubble guppies raise him for the next thirty minutes. I figure it’s the best way to make sure we both keep breathing.

Author:

I have a Master's degree in Secondary Education, a Bachelor's degree in English, and a Secondary Ed teaching license. I also have a four year old son, a one year old son, a husband, and a cat. Let's see how those degrees help me manage my life..... Spoiler alert- they just decorate the walls.

2 thoughts on “There is no “pin” for this…

Leave a Reply

