Posted in It had to be said, Mom-ents, Uncategorized

Growth and development: or. Things I just don’t care about anymore

As the mother of a two and a half year old, I have endless opportunities for “growth” . As a Type-A, perfectionist, I don’t really appreciate these “opportunities” because I am trying so hard to match some parenting philosophy or to practice mindfulness or I am worried about blah, blah, blah….

Here’s my newest growth gift to myself: a list of things I will simply not worry about for now.

1. My son throwing food on the floor: it’s going to happen (he thinks he’s sharing with the dog. I think they have some racket going on-I just can’t figure out what the boy gets out of it…). Eventually, this will end, but, dinner hosts, please keep this in mind when menu planning- just because I’m done worrying about it doesn’t mean you want red sauce on your beige carpet. Actually, if you have beige carpet-I should probably just get a sitter, my kid is a walking dirt cloud.

Which brings me to number two…

2. How dirty the boy gets: I just can’t anymore. Yesterday, I watched him eat handfuls of dirt. He would put it in his mouth, spit it out, say “yuck” , and then eat more. I’m done monitoring his dirt intake and his dirt coverage. This is why we buy Elmo soap, and if I’m too tired for a bath, this is why God made summer hot and garden hoses so much fun.

3. I am done matching socks: socks are stupid, matching them is a lesson in banality. Wear sandals or match your own ( I’m talking to you, toddler! If you can pull them off during a tantrum, you can match them too)

4. I am done with Pinterest exercise routines. I go to Pinterest to waste time, figure out outfits, find recipes I’ll never make and crafts I won’t create because I don’t want to buy the odd ingredients for either one. I’m not going to do the exercises; I just want to counter balance the calories in my food board.

5. I will no longer worry about what time my son goes to sleep or what time he wakes up. He’s a night owl, so am I . For that matter, he’s a bad sleeper, so am I. We’re figuring it out, it’s cool. I am really enjoying his nine am wake ups, so if that means he didn’t go to bed till 11, it’s alright.

6. Serving a vegetable at every meal: the pressure! I wish he ate salad but he doesn’t. At some point, he’ll want to eat leaves like his Daddy and I.

7. Yelling, crying, temper tantrums: I imagine it’s tough to be a toddler. People boss you around all day, sometimes they carry you against your will , I imagine I would yell a lot too. I am actually OK with telling, temper tantrums, and the like- as long as he isn’t throwing things or hitting me, things are good. I figure any verbal communication is a step in the right direction.

8. The state of my floors: I can’t keep the magnetic letters, match box cars, pants, books, and cracker fragments off the floor. When you add in the dog hair, my husband’s size 14 shoes, my bags, and the randomly placed pillow fort, there is no way I can get ahead of this situation. I either need a maid or the Suck – It ( if you aren’t an Office fan, this reference, sadly, just passed you by). In the meantime, either wear your shoes or play hop scotch across my house.

9. The toddler landmine that is my car: current contents of my car : stray cracker crumbs, toy parts, socks, half empty water bottles, bobby pins, and various emergency supplies ( including my back up lipstick)

In the course of a day, I figure I worry about 7,145 things. Taking these nine things off my player isn’t going to make that much of a difference ; however, it does lighten my load ( and make me feel less guilty when I hop scotch over the mega blocks in the family room).

Author:

I have a Master's degree in Secondary Education, a Bachelor's degree in English, and a Secondary Ed teaching license. I also have a four year old son, a one year old son, a husband, and a cat. Let's see how those degrees help me manage my life..... Spoiler alert- they just decorate the walls.

2 thoughts on “Growth and development: or. Things I just don’t care about anymore

  1. I love this! I totally agree. I feel like there are so many expectations sometimes and I can’t handle it. Deciding to not care about certain things has been the best! Thanks for your thoughts! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

