Posted in Mom-ents

Confessions of a Jesus loving, stay at home, teacher mama

I confess…

It takes every ounce of patience to keep my temper when the toddler throws food. I want to lose it when hard work, good nutrients, and ( let’s be honest) money splatters all over the wall. 

I sometimes, more frequently than I’d like, take out my frustrations by yelling at the dog for minor infractions. Yesterday, I whipped out a war cry on a squirrel who was eating all the seeds in the bird feeder- that was awesome, for me, not the squirrel ( or the neighbors) . 

My 2.5 year old son has only slept thru the night a handful of times. If your kid is a good sleeper, I don’t want to know. Seriously, keep that to yourself or risk injury. 

I think not sleeping thru the night is actually pretty typical for little people, but parents don’t talk about it. I call BS on keeping that info to yourself! 

I love Jesus. I don’t think Jesus really cares if we use four letter “cuss ” words; however, I know my husband does care, so out of respect to him- I try really, really hard not to use them…. I miss them. 

 I hate putting shoes on my son. I can’t be the only one to feel this way, right? Summer is great! Bare feet ! I look all natural mama, and really I just can’t take the sock/shoe temper tantrum. 

There are at least three times a week that I want to run away to a hotel or my mom’s house. Not because things are bad, just because I need to breathe. 

I miss stupid parts of my life before a child: like binge watching Netflix with my hubs and eating cereal for dinner. This shames me… The highlights of my days were The Office and Frosted Mini Wheats. 

I change my outfit multiple times a day- even if I’m not going anywhere. This provides my husband with endless jokes and me with endless dirty looks. 

I get tired of pretending that mothering and parenting and wife-ing are spiritual, blissful experiences all the time. They aren’t. Sometimes they are, and those days are gifts and fabulous. Sometimes, they are hard and full of thankless effort. I think if we were more upfront about the work, and tension and effort of adult life less people would get divorced or feel bad because their lives don’t look like their Pinterest boards. So this blog is my effort to be real about my non-magazine, good is better than perfect life. 

… Also, I’m a little addicted to Pinterest. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I have a Master's degree in Secondary Education, a Bachelor's degree in English, and a Secondary Ed teaching license. I also have a four year old son, a one year old son, a husband, and a cat. Let's see how those degrees help me manage my life..... Spoiler alert- they just decorate the walls.

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a Jesus loving, stay at home, teacher mama

Leave a Reply

